Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support Training: Common FAQs

By: Cascade Training | Posted on: Jan 20, 2020

If you’re a healthcare professional considering taking American Heart Association (AHA) advanced life support training, here are answers to some Advanced Cardiovascular Life (ACLS) training FAQs:

What is ACLS?

ACLS training is a classroom course for healthcare providers (physicians, pharmacists, nurses, nurse practitioners, physician assistants and emergency medical services personnel) that details how medical professionals should respond to patients who have experienced cardiac arrest. The goal is to achieve better outcomes in complicated cardiovascular, respiratory and related emergencies by applying basic ACLS standards and techniques.

What does the course cover?

The American Heart Association offers both an initial and a renewal course in ACLS. The initial course curriculum gives you the skill competencies necessary to recognize and manage respiratory arrest and know how to deal with emergencies such as:
• Bradycardia
• Stable and unstable tachycardia
• Acute coronary syndromes
• Stroke treatment
• Simple and complex VF/VT
• Asystole
• Pharmacology
• ACS and stroke management


Students learn basic life support skills, including effective chest compressions and how to use a bag-mask device and an automated external defibrillator (AED).

Enroll in the renewal course if you are proficient in performing BLS and ACLS, know how to read ECGs, understand ACLS pharmacology and regularly assess and manage cardiac treatments. This is also the course to take so that you can keep your AHA ACLS certification current, meet employment requirements and receive continuing education accreditation.

How long does ACLS last?

Training for ACLS can be completed in one day. Various dates, times and locations are available.

Where can I register for the course?

Cascade Training Center locations in Oregon, Washington and California offer AHA-approved ACLS courses.

Can I become certified in ACLS?

Yes, anyone is able to become certified in ACLS. Our most common participants are healthcare providers who oversees or manages cardiovascular centers, an EMS provider or a worker in intensive or critical care units, they all complete the ACLS certification often.

How to Become ACLS Certified?

What does certification involve?

Once you have completed an approved AHA ACLS course and demonstrated skill competencies, you will be required to take a written exam and assessment in CPR, bag-mask ventilation skills and Megacode. If you pass, you will receive an official AHA eCard ACLS provider card. Certification lasts for two years and then must be renewed by completing the ACLS renewal course.

Does Cascade Training Center offer other AHA courses?

Since 2002, Cascade has credentialed thousands of people per year, offering customized training and compliance programs, as well as more than 20 nationally validated certification courses.

Contact Cascade Training Center to register for ACLS or other AHA training programs.